When My Big Sis Got Wed…

My big sister got married recently. It was an intimate affair which stayed close to Islamic customs. It was also a fabulous opportunity to dress up and get glam.
An evening of henna and cakes
Islamic tradition sees the bride gather with her close female friends and family for an evening of fun before her wedding day – the Henna Night. Here the bride and the her friends have beautiful henna patterns cover theirs hands and feet as a sign of beauty. My sister had quite a lavish design, the rest of us kept it simple.

mmm delicious cakes made my other talented sister 

The Islamic Ceremony
My sister had her hair and make up done professionally while the rest of us chose to do our own. MUA Zeenat created a look to suit my sister while keeping strong the Arabic influences. Unlike western weddings, the eye make up is heavy and colours are strong.
The ceremony took place in a stunning Turkish mosque, followed by an evening reception dinner nearby.

the bride

Julie and I indulge in dessert
the happy couple share a giggle
the boys having a bromance moment
i loved my bangles
the groom and his mom

The Cheeky Tradition…
…and an opportunity to have a laugh. Tradition has it that the single sisters and friends of the bride should sneak into the marital suite and add to it a touch of fun/ romance/ naughtiness. I gained access to the wedding suite with Shahena and Julie and we made sure the newly weds would return to something amazing. I won’t divulge anymore xoxo

Leave a Reply

