Get Greasy: Must Have Beauty Oils

“You’re not putting that greasy c$@& on me!” is a line my mom quite often heard as she forced her coconut oiled hands to my hair each Saturday night from the ages of 0-16yrs. After this i could run faster than her. 

Using oils has been key to my beauty regime since i was a child. I actually use to hate it as i thought it was so ‘uncool’, however i have since realised the super benefits my amazing mom knew long before i did.
Here are my most used beauty oils, i usually buy oils in pure form and create my own little potions.
Sweet Almond Oil
This vegetable oil is quite versatile. I like to use it on my body most days – especially in the winter months. It has a silky texture which nourishes and protects, plus is easily absorbed without leaving any greasy residue. Nothing worse than grease on your clothes. Derived from the kernals of the Almond Tree, i also love using this oil as a hair treatment. I literally massage a small amount into my roots and ends, and wash it out the next morning. Not only does it help the condition of my hair, but has also helped me with my never ending mission for looong length hair.
The high concentration of vitamin A, B1, B2, B6 and E makes it a perfect all rounder oil. I quite often add essential oils such as Lavender, Rose or Lemongrass to this, creating an invigorating or calming experience. 

Jojoba Oil
This is one on my favourite oils for my face. It’s been my saviour through spotty and dry moments, helping to balance my skin. The reason it is so good is because it has a similar composition to our skin’s natural oils, so mimics the way skin works. Jojoba also contains myristic acid which has anti inflammatory actions helping to calm irritated skin.
Argan Oil

The Argan Tree

The benefits of this Moroccan oil have sent the skin and hair care experts into frenzy. This is this the current ‘gold’ of oil. Used for centuries by the Moroccan women on their hair, face and body, Argan oil has been added to many western cosmetics. In pure form, its benefits are neverending. Containing vitamins A and E, rich in anti oxidants and fatty acids as well as omega 3 and 6, Argan is nourishing, protecting, anti-ageing and smoothing all in one. A must in my life.
I quite like playing with various carrier oils and essential oils, creating new potions which i hope my beauty regime will benefit from. However, if you don’t have the same obsession as me, there are some really good oils out there ready for you to treat yourself with. 
Here are some of my faves:
Betty Hula ‘The Secret’ Oil £15.99
With a blend of Grapeseed Oil, Rose, Jojoba and Vitamin E,  The Secret Oil helps repair damaged skin, combat dryness and reduce wrinkles.
Aromatherapy Associates Nourishing Face Oil £37
If you have quite dry and dehydrated skin (which most of us experience at some point during winter) this little concoction will help. Containing Evening primrose oil, Rose and sandalwood to lock in moisture, nourish and renew the complexion. 

REN Morrocan Rose Otto Body Oil £34
Infused with the anti-ageing and smoothing Rose, this oil not only smells lush but will help skin to look healthy, feel soft and protect against damage.

Leave a Reply

